In Florida, motorcycle operators have specific laws that they must obey. These motorcycle-specific laws cover everything from insurance to the operation of a motorcycle. While most laws in Florida regarding motorcycle operation are similar to other states, there are some key differences regarding licensing, and safety.
Have questions about a motorcycle accident injury? Learn more about Florida Motorcycle Accidents
Before ever hitting the road on a motorcycle in the state of Florida, a motorcycle driver needs to have proper insurance and licensing.
Florida Motorcycle Licensing
In the state of Florida, motorcycle operators are required to obtain a valid, current motorcycle endorsement. The requirements for obtaining a motorcycle endorsement in Florida are:
- Have a valid driver license,
- Complete a motorcycle safety course, either the Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Basic RiderCourse Updated (BRCu),
- Obtain endorsement within one year of completing the course.
A motorcycle only license is available in Florida. The requirements for obtaining a motorcycle only license are materially the same as receiving an endorsement to a Class E operator’s license. You can learn more about the requirements here: Florida Motorcycle license requirements.
Schedule a Free Case EvaluationAsk Tom Today!
Florida Motorcycle Insurance
Regarding insurance for motorcycles in Florida, the state does not require insurance to register your vehicle. However, other laws do apply. If an operator chooses not to wear a helmet when operating their motorcycle, they must carry insurance. These requirements are:
- $10,000 single person bodily injury liability
- $20,000 for two or more people per accident
- $10,000 property damage liability coverage,
- $10,000 coverage for medical payments.
Florida Laws for Operating a Motorcycle
In addition to the laws all vehicle operators must adhere to while on the roads in Florida, motorcycle operators have their own requirements that cover their safety equipment.
Under Florida law, motorcycle operators under the age of 21 must wear a helmet. Riders over the age of 21 may choose not to wear a helmet provided they have insurance that provides $10,000 in benefits for medical injuries. All Florida motorcycle operators are required to wear protective eye gear.
Hurt in a Motorcycle Accident in Florida?
Contact our law firm and speak with our skilled team of motor vehicle accident attorneys. We vigorously and diligently pursue the recovery of all our clients and look forward to the opportunity to assist you or your loved one. Call us at 850-741-7381 or send us a message.